Provides detailed information about  all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States from 1989 to the present.  Includes statistical and interactive displays that allow you to sort the data based on different issues including by DNA and Non-DNA exonerations, type of crime, race and contributing factors.

*Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!*
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Search for open access scholarly articles from institutions across the world.  CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. 

SocArXiv is a free and publicly accessible platform for social scientists to upload working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data, and code.

Well known open access publisher, founded as a non-profit in 2001 to transform research communication by publishing journals with rigorous reporting and peer review.  

A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

A fairly new searchable preprint server for hosting unpublished academic papers in psychology.

Very large, well established repository of social science (and other) academic papers.  It was founded in 1994 as an open repository, but bought in 2017 by a for-profit publisher, Elsevier.  The vast majority of the papers hosted on the site are free to download. 

A curated, independent, searchable directory of open access peer-reviewed journals.

A searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey. NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources.

The index contains over 35,000 records and it is expected to grow as John Jay College professors and students locate and assemble data from additional sources.

Provides access to  America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Articles, book chapters and other documents authored by humanities researchers and posted on Humanities Commons, a non-profit, academic social networking site.

Brings together over 500 relevant titles including periodicals, federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, Congressional Research Study (CRS) Reports and Supreme Court Briefs.

Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

 

Open access encyclopedia providing detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

A free, preprint server for medical research. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Interactive visualization tools, downloadable datasets and rigorous research on New Yorkers’ health provided by the New York City Health Department.  

Includes data about the social, economic and health conditions and outcomes of New Yorkers, neighborhood-by-neighborhood;  over 200 NYC environmental health indicators in charts, maps and scatter plots; and tools to analyze  and visualize NYC health data from surveys, disease reports and vital records by sex, race/ethnicity, age and other stratifications.