A free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility providing access to over 1230 databases from 123 jurisdictions developed collaboratively by 14 Legal Information Institutes including the Cornell Legal Information Institute.  A good resource for finding contemporary legal materials from foreign countries.

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Provides free online access to more than 250 backlist titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, with new titles added on an ongoing basis.

Europeana provides direct access to more than 15 million photos, paintings, film clips, audio files, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers from major European cultural institutions.

An annual publication of the CIA providing a two- to three-page summary of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of 266 U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and other areas in the world. Includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and  Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Contains historic newspapers from 1836-1922 and a U.S. Newspaper Directory for American newspapers published between 1690-present. Website produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Comprehensive search engine for exploring 9,500 study abroad programs. Directory by country, field of study, cost, length of study, etc.  Includes sources of scholarship funding, internships, and other information about study abroad.

National database of people killed during interactions with law enforcement since 2000. Content based on a combination of media sources, public documents and information uploaded by volunteers.   Users can search by name or by state,  then depending on results, can search by county, year, age, race or signs of mental illness.

Note: This database is a work in progress, and like any open web resource, seek to corroborate any data with other sources such as the Uniform Crime Reports database maintained by the FBI and accessible through the library website.

Collection of movie information. IMDb tries to catalog every pertinent detail about a movie, from who was in it, to who made it, to trivia about it, to filming locations, and even where one can find reviews and fan sites on the web.

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

Photographs, images, and other materials digitized from the Special Collections at John Jay College Library.

Online gallery with more than 900,000 images—the largest collection of historical images of New York City in the world. The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to items digitized from the Municipal Archives' collections, including photographs, maps, motion pictures and audio recordings. 

Explore 700,000+ items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. New materials are added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.  A quick reference guide on how to ue this collection can be found at  https://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/SlaveryQRG.pdf

Research tool for New York City housing and demographic information created by the Furman Center at NYU.

A searchable collection of over 500,000 primary source documents relating to African American history and culture digitized by over 1,000 libraries libraries and archives across the country.

Portal to select  internet resources relating to Latin American studies organized by subject and country, providing access to a wide variety of full-text resources.

A gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.

Holders of New York Public Library cards have access to 100s of electronic databases, many of which are accessible wherever you have an Internet connection.

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. You can apply for a NYPL card online.

Well-established open-access pre-print server hosting unpublished e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.