ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with other learned societies.

America: History and Life

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodical Collection

Provides digital access to the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century.

American History in Video

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Note:  The content of this collection is now available through  Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press).

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.

Black Thought and Culture

Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, and includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other ephemeral material.

Burney Newspaper Collection--17th and 18th Centuries (go to Learning Center for research help)

A comprehensive collection of early English newspapers from London, the British Isles, and colonies, including many American titles. To learn more about how to use this archive and refine your research question go to the Learning Center.

Census Data (Social Explorer)

Explore over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States through interactive maps from the present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys U.S. election data, U.S. crime data (FBI/UCR), World Development Indicators, and more.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Provides access to  America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture,1790-1920 (go to Learning Center for research help)

Archive containing manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals from 1790 - 1920. The collection covers Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes.  Includes raw data about crime, its solutions, and the popular response.  To learn more about how to use this archive and refine your research question go to the Learning Center.

Digital Public Library of America

Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

 

Docuseek

Selected documentaries and social issues from Icarus, BullFrog and other distributors. Issues covered include history, politics, anthropology, human rights, and justice and environment broadly interpreted. From independent & progressive documentary makers.

Early English Books Online

EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

A digital archive of 150,000 books published in the eighteenth century, covering a broad spectrum of topics like law, history, science, and art.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

A comprehensive streaming video collection  of 1,000s of full length educational videos and clips covering a broad range of topics.

You can search by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject area. Most of the titles in the collection have closed-captioning and many have interactive transcripts.

Gale Primary Sources

Cross-search dozens of historical archives covering hundreds of years of history through this single platform. Resources include monographs, manuscripts, trial transcripts, newspapers, maps, and photographs. Individual databases collections include :

• 17th and 18th Centry Burney Collection
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• The Making of the Modern World
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

Brings together over 500 relevant titles including periodicals, federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, Congressional Research Study (CRS) Reports and Supreme Court Briefs.

Hein Online

Several historical American and international law collections incuding law reviews and journals from their first volume of publication, the Federal Register, Presidential Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Attorney Generals Opinions, World Constitutions, legal classics, and the newest collection, Slavery in America and the World; History, Culture and Law. A comprehensive user's guide to this database is available at  https://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/HOLUserGuide.pdf.

Historic American Newspapers (LOC)

Contains historic newspapers from 1836-1922 and a U.S. Newspaper Directory for American newspapers published between 1690-present. Website produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Provides access to academic historical journals that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.

History of Capital Punishment Database

Collection of materials from the National Death Penalty Archives on the nature, history, operation, effects, psychology, desirability, and compatibility with religious and moral precepts, of the death penalty.  Includes periodicals, trials, hearings, bibliographies and other related works.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program.

Loeb Classical Library (digital)

Provided by the Harvard University Press, this online resource provides more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts in a modern interface that  allows readers to browse, search, bookmark, and annotate content. Content cannot be downloaded or printed.  (Note:  The library  has the print edition of the Loeb Classical Library).

Making of the Modern World

Provides the full text of 61,000 works of literature in business, politics, and economics published from 1450 to 1850. Includes the full Goldsmiths

New York Times Historical File

Full text of articles and page images of the New York Times from 1851 to 2014.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

An eclectic collection of digital collections of primary source materials mostly from British and American libraries.

Northeast Slavery Records Index (NESRI)

A searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey. NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources.

The index contains over 35,000 records and it is expected to grow as John Jay College professors and students locate and assemble data from additional sources.

NYS Historic Newspapers

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in African Studies, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Criminology, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Military History and  Psychology with links to the full text of sources when available.

Oxford Reference

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Sage Knowledge Collection

Hundreds  of ebooks and subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage and CQ Press.

SAGE Research Methods Videos

Includes over 400  tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. You can search videos by method; by discipline (criminology, economics, sociology, etc.); or by video type (i.e. interview, tutorial, case studies, etc.).

Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.  A quick reference guide on how to ue this collection can be found at  https://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/SlaveryQRG.pdf

Social Explorer

Displays interactive maps of U.S. Census data going back to 1790, U.S. election data, U.S. crime data (FBI/UCR), World Development Indicators, and more.

U.S.History in Context

Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history. Includes full text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Web of Science

Subscription to database expired June 30, 2019.  Please select another database.

Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000

Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, audio recordings, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.

World History in Context

Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history.  Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.