**Science: How to get authoritative information on science topics.

How to find articles, books and more written by scientists. A guide to finding out more about science topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Sage Journals

Sage Knowledge Collection

Hundreds  of ebooks and subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage and CQ Press.

SAGE Research Methods Videos

Includes over 400  tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. You can search videos by method; by discipline (criminology, economics, sociology, etc.); or by video type (i.e. interview, tutorial, case studies, etc.).

Scholastic (formerly Grolier Online)

Contains the Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and the New Book of Knowledge. (from NOVELny)

Science (AAAS publication)

Weekly journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. With other journals from AAAS.

Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Science in Context

Full text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

SCOPUS

Abstract and citation database to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present. 

When searching OneSearch  using your CUNYfirst login credentials to include this database in your search.

Serials Directory

Provides access to bibliographic information and pricing for popular serials.Contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications.

Shepard's Citations

Search for cited cases and check the validity of a citation.

Available only through NexisUni. Go to case to find Shepherd's Citations.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.  A quick reference guide on how to ue this collection can be found at  https://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/SlaveryQRG.pdf

SocArXiv

SocArXiv is a free and publicly accessible platform for social scientists to upload working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data, and code.

Social Explorer

Displays interactive maps of U.S. Census data going back to 1790, U.S. election data, U.S. crime data (FBI/UCR), World Development Indicators, and more.

Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)

Compilation of  ProQuest collections in the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology, politics (including PAIS International), criminal justice, education (including ERIC), and linguistics. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more.

Social Sciences Full Text

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Social Services Abstracts

Accesses journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Something About the Author (Gale)

Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online

Statistics from the current Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics with ongoing updates and the archive back to 1994. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Springerlink Online

Hundreds of scholarly journals and Ebooks published by Springer (or formerly by Palgrave), as well as online Reference books--not all indexed Ebooks are available fulltext. Coverage from 1997 to the present.

SSRN

Very large, well established repository of social science (and other) academic papers.  It was founded in 1994 as an open repository, but bought in 2017 by a for-profit publisher, Elsevier.  The vast majority of the papers hosted on the site are free to download. 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Entries are maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. Access is unlimited and free to everyone.

State Legislation Aggregator Search Sites

These freely available websites aggregate state legislative information, providing a more uniform and user-friendly search experience and the ability to compare legislative activities across the states.

1. Openstates.org
2. Legiscan.com  
3. BillTrack50.com (must register, but it is free)

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  Current print edition of ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is available at the reference desk -- HA 202.A5.   

STATSnetBASE

This collection of 400 reference books in statistics, is included in search results on the Taylor and Francis platform.

Note:  It is no longer possible to limit your search to just this collection.

Supreme Court Database (NSF)

Provides legal scholars with extensive data, like background issues, reasons for acceptance, chronology, outcome impacts, and judge's opinions, for Supreme Court Cases since 1953. Funded by the National Science Foundation.

SUR, 1931-1992

Archival collection of one of the most important and influential Spanish language literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century. Includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements, a comprehensive electronic index, a set of images of manuscripts from the first issue and an unpublished set of letters by Victoria Ocampo.

Swank Motion Pictures

Feature films requested by faculty for curriculum support. Viewable by everyone with a John Jay email address but please note our licenses permit individual or course use only.  Most of the films are from the big Hollywood studios, or overseas equivalent.