Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Psychology

** Guide to Forensic Psychology

A library guide to researching topics in forensic psychology

Academic OneFile (GALE)

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. (from NOVELny))

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access: John Jay
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street)

375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
DSM Legacy Collection

DSM Legacy collection including DSM-I, DSM-II, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV and DSM-IV-TR. The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals; each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
DSM-5 (APA)

The most current edition of the standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals; each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

Access: John Jay
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary (ProQuest)

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Medline via PubMed (NIH.gov)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access: All
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO)

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access: All
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests of educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas; Yearbooks 9 through 19.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PILOTS (ProQuest)

Bibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs and produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.  

Access: John Jay
Psyc Combined Databases (EBSCO)

Search PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts), PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA all together with one search.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

Thousands of articles from journals published by the APA and allied organizations. Coverage from 1988 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PsycBOOKS (EBSCO)

Books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycCRITIQUES (EBSCO)

Reviews of books and films from the APA.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycEXTRA (EBSCO)

Companion database to the scholarly PsycINFO database. It consists of technical and annual reports, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Psychiatry Online (APA)

The homepage of the American Psychiatric Association with links to several of its journals, textbooks, and the DSM-5.

Access: John Jay
Psychological Experiments Online (Alexander Street)

Psychological Experiments Online  is a multimedia collection that pairs audio and video recordings of experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents.It includes notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports in topics from obedience to authority and conformity to operant conditioning. The collection contains 51 streaming videos totaling 37 hours of viewing time. Videos include lectures, presentations, documentaries, experiment footage and interviews.

Access: John Jay
Psychology Full Text Collection (SAGE)

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in applied psychology, assessment, child development, clinical psychology, cognitive psychology, counseling psychology, and social psychology. Coverage from 1944 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycINFO (EBSCO)

The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Pubmed (NIH.gov)

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Alternate access via library barcode
Sage Knowledge Collection

A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.

Access: John Jay
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) (Thomson)

Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the sciences, including medicine, mathematics and statistics. 1997 to present.

Access: John Jay
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Web of Science (Thomson)

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
Subscribe to Psychology