Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Philosophy

ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with other learned societies.

Access: John Jay
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) (Thomson)

Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the arts and humanities. 1975 to present.

Access: John Jay
Early English Books Online (Chadwyck-ProQuest)

EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

Access: John Jay
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary (ProQuest)

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (GALE)

A digital archive of 150,000 books published in the eighteenth century, covering a broad spectrum of topics like law, history, science, and art.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCO)

Index to 65,000 essays in 5,300 anthologies and collections. Coverage spans a range of the humanities and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Humanities Source (EBSCO)

Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, ltierature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. (Content from Humanities Index (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)

Index to books and journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages with some links to full text. Coverage from 1940 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Entries are maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. Access is unlimited and free to everyone.

Access: All
Web of Science (Thomson)

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
Subscribe to Philosophy