National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Data collections relating to criminal justice from federal and state agencies, and grant-funded projects. Provides documentation, and browsing and downloading access to most of the data.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers

Full-text of NBER Working Papers from November 1994 to the present -- approximately 500 papers are published annually. The NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.

 Download the newest working papers at   https://www.nber.org/new.html

National Emergency Training Center Library Catalog

Library catalog of the National Fire Academy. Indexes journal articles, books, and reports in fire science and emergency management. Items not owned by John Jay may be available via Interlibrary Loan.

National Geographic Magazine Archive

The complete archive from 1888 to 1994 of the award-winning magazine, which features in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment; and spectacular photographic essays.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIH)

Conducts and supports alcohol-related research in a wide range of scientific areas.  Use this link for the archived Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), produced by NIAAA from 1972 through December 2003.

National Newspapers Core (see US Major Dailies Collection)

Provides full text access to

• The New York Times (1980-present)
• Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
• Washington Post (1987-present)
• Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
• Chicago Tribune (1985-present)

National Registry of Exonerations

Provides detailed information about  all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States from 1989 to the present.  Includes statistical and interactive displays that allow you to sort the data based on different issues including by DNA and Non-DNA exonerations, type of crime, race and contributing factors.

Nature

Nature Journals is a database providing access to the full content of the premier science journal Nature, as well as the following 28 additional journals published by Nature: Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Chemistry, Nature Climate Change, Nature Communications, Nature Genetics, Nature Geoscience,  Nature Immunology, Nature Materials, Nature Medicine, Nature Methods, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Cancer, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, Nature Reviews Endocrinology,  Nature Reviews Genetics, Nature Reviews Immunology, Nature Reviews Microbiology, Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, Nature Structural and Molecular Biology, and Scientific American.

NAXOS Music Library

A comprehensive collection of classical music available online, comprising the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues, which include Classical, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.

NCBI Bookshelf (NIH)

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

NCJRS — National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations; full-text is free for all; excellent source for international dissertations.

New York City Charter, Code, and Rules

Searchable and browsable public portal to the laws of New York City including:  New York City Charter,  New York City Administrative Code and the Rules of the City of New York.

New York City Crime Map

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

New York Code, Rules, and Regulations - NYCRR

Click on title to access in LexisNexis Academic and then click on TOC - Table of Contents -- in upper left hand side of screen Or arrows to browse.  See subject guide on Finding Legal Information for more information.

New York Law Journal

New York’s daily legal newspaper. 

(Ignore the Sign In button, it never goes away.)

New York Public Library Databases

Holders of New York Public Library cards have access to 100s of electronic databases, many of which are accessible wherever you have an Internet connection.

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. You can apply for a NYPL card online.

New York Times

Full text access to the New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) from June 1, 1980 to present. (Part of  National Newpaper Core database).

New York Times Digital Edition - Complimentary Academic Passes

All members of the John Jay Community with a valid John Jay email address may sign up for complimentary access to the New York Times digital edition (nytimes.com and smartphone apps). Claim or renew your academic pass and see more details.

New York Times Historical File

Full text of articles and page images of the New York Times from 1851 to 2014.

Newspapers.com

*Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!*
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources formerly found through the LexisNexisAcademic platform - including federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, and law review articles. The interface is designed to offer quick discovery across all content types. Register for a personal NexisUni id to use personalization features such as Alerts, saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Watch this video to learn about the latest enhancements to the Nexis Uni interface.

NFPA Codes Online

Online version of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) National Fire Codes.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

An eclectic collection of digital collections of primary source materials mostly from British and American libraries.

Northeast Slavery Records Index (NESRI)

A searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey. NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources.

The index contains over 35,000 records and it is expected to grow as John Jay College professors and students locate and assemble data from additional sources.

NYC Department of Records and Municipal Archives Photo Gallery

Online gallery with more than 900,000 images—the largest collection of historical images of New York City in the world. The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to items digitized from the Municipal Archives' collections, including photographs, maps, motion pictures and audio recordings. 

NYC Equitable Development Data Explorer

Interactive map for exploring how demographic, housing, and quality of life characteristics compare across neighborhoods and demographic groups in NYC over the past two decades.

NYC Health Data

Interactive visualization tools, downloadable datasets and rigorous research on New Yorkers’ health provided by the New York City Health Department.  

Includes data about the social, economic and health conditions and outcomes of New Yorkers, neighborhood-by-neighborhood;  over 200 NYC environmental health indicators in charts, maps and scatter plots; and tools to analyze  and visualize NYC health data from surveys, disease reports and vital records by sex, race/ethnicity, age and other stratifications.

NYPL Digital Collections

Explore 700,000+ items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. New materials are added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

NYS Historic Newspapers

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.