Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Literature

Academic OneFile (GALE)

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. (from NOVELny))

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with other learned societies.

Access: John Jay
Artemis Literary Sources - (GALE)

Portal for cross-searching literary databases from Gale, including these databases:

 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Black Drama (Alexander Street)

Full text of plays by playwrights from the USA, the Caribbean, and English-speaking countries in Africa. Excellent source for Harlem Renaissance writers.

Access: John Jay
Early English Books Online (Chadwyck-ProQuest)

EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

Access: John Jay
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (GALE)

A digital archive of 150,000 books published in the eighteenth century, covering a broad spectrum of topics like law, history, science, and art.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCO)

Index to 65,000 essays in 5,300 anthologies and collections. Coverage spans a range of the humanities and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Humanities Source (EBSCO)

Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, ltierature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. (Content from Humanities Index (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Literature Resource Center - (GALE)

Provides access to full text biographies, critical analyses, reviews, and bibliographies of work from novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LitFinder - (GALE)

Full text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches. Also includes biographies, work summaries and photographs.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MLA Bibliography (GALE)

Index to scholarly journal articles on language and literature. Coverage from 1926 to the present (Note: many are not available at John Jay.)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Twayne's Authors Series - (GALE)

Literary criticism and interpretation including nearly 900 books from six print series — U.S. Authors Series Classic, English Writers Series Classic, World Authors Series Classic, Masterwork Studies, Studies in Short Fiction, and updated editions of U.S. Authors, World Authors and English Authors.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Web of Science (Thomson)

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
Subscribe to Literature