Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Law

**Finding legal information: The absolute basics.

A guide to finding out more about legal topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Access: All
Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access: John Jay
CQ Electronic Library (SAGE)

Twelve CQ publications available - including online editions of Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Supreme Court Collection (SAGE)

Historical analysis, timely updates and expert commentary on Supreme Court decisions. Also includes biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Weekly (SAGE)

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ebrary (ProQuest)

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Guide to Law Online (LOC.gov)

An annotated guide to national and international sources of government and legal information prepared by the Law Library of Congress; includes links to treaties, constitutions, and codes.

Access: All
Hein Online

Several historical American and international law collections incuding law reviews and journals from their first volume of publication, the Federal Register, Presidential Documents, Attorney Generals Opinions, World Constitutions, and legal classics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (see Legal Source - EBSCO)

Now part of  Legal Source, the  Ebsco database providing articles on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world with coverage dating back to 1908.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Legal Source (EBSCO)

Articles on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world with coverage dating back to 1908. Content from Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LexisNexis Academic

Federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, law review articles, as well as articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LLMC (Law Library Microfilm Collection) - Digital

An archival collection of legal materials with historical federal legislative, executive and judicial papers (including temp. commisions like the Wickersham Comm.), selected state documents, and historically significant international documents.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
New York City Charter, Code, and Rules

Searchable and browsable public portal to the laws of New York City including:  New York City Charter,  New York City Administrative Code and the Rules of the City of New York.

Access: All
New York City Crime Map (NYC.gov)

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Access: All
New York Code, Rules, and Regulations - NYCRR (LexisNexis)

Click on title to access in LexisNexis Academic and then click on TOC - Table of Contents -- in upper left hand side of screen Or arrows to browse.  See subject guide on Finding Legal Information for more information.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Public Library of Law

A collection of free law materials including case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and federal and state constitutions.

Access: All
Shepard's Citations (LexisNexis)

Search for cited cases and check the validity of a citation.

Available only through LexisNexis Academic. Click on 'Search by content type' on the upper right, then find Shepherd's Citations under 'Legal.'

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Supreme Court Database (.edu)

Provides legal scholars with extensive data, like background issues, reasons for acceptance, chronology, outcome impacts, and judge's opinions, for Supreme Court Cases since 1953. Funded by the National Science Foundation.

Access: All
VictimLaw

Information on victims rights and protections including Constitutional provisions, statutes, court rules, administrative code provisions, case summaries, and attorney general opinions. Includes overviews of the justice system and a glossary.

Access: All
WESTLAW

Federal and state laws and cases and law review articles. For use by John Jay students and faculty only. For access, show your John Jay ID at the reference desk.

Westlaw Campus

State and federal cases, law reviews, news information and legal reference sources like American Jurisprudence, the ALR, and the Keycite citator service.

Access: John Jay
World Constitutions Illustrated (Hein Online)

Provides access to the current constitution of every country in its native language (English translations for most), and links to related scholarly articles, books, bibliographies, and web sites.

Access: John Jay
World Legal Information Institute

A free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility providing access to over 1230 databases from 123 jurisdictions developed collaboratively by 14 Legal Information Institutes including the Cornell Legal Information Institute.  A good resource for finding contemporary legal materials from foreign countries.

Access: All
Subscribe to Law