Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Human rights

**Guide to Human Rights

A library guide to researching topics in human rights.

America: History and Life

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Amnesty International Library

Makes available the text of news and newsletters, reports, actions, press releases, and other information about human rights issues around the world.

AnthroSource

From the  American Anthropology Association, provides full access to AAA's current publications including  an archive of all AAA journals.

Access: John Jay
Contemporary Women's Issues

Journal articles, reports, newsletters, and articles from alternative press sources.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Economist Historical Archive

The full text of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ethnic Newswatch

Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish. To find movie reviews limit the document type to movie review.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ethnographic Video Online

Over  1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork., for the visual study of human culture, behavior and society around the world.



 

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Europa World Year Book

One of the world's leading reference works covering political, economic  and commercial information in over 250 countries and territories. Country information includes a profile; statistics; and directories of major organizations in government and politics, society and media, and business and commerce.  Also includes extensive information on international organizations such as the United Nations, the European Union, and NATO.

Access: John Jay
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 10,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Human Rights Studies Online

Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010 .  Includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for Human Rights for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia,   Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. Includes over 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that can be searched by people discussed, places discussed, organizations or academic discipline.

Access: John Jay
LGBT Life

Contains the full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as monographs and books.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Subscribe to Human rights