Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Health and physical education

** Guide to Health and Fitness (for PE students)

A library guide to researching topics in health and fitness.

Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (NIH)

Portal created by he National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)  to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research. Includes links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics. Also included is a link to the archived Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), produced by NIAAA from 1972 through December 2003.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 10,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
GREENR (Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources)

Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations. Reader-friendly; may be especially appreciated by non-science majors and beginning science students.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health & Wellness Resource Center

Reader-friendly collections of articles on common health issues, grouped by topic.  Includes some academic articles.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health Reference Center Academic

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Medline Complete

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Medline via PubMed (NIH)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
MedlinePlus (NIH)

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
Nature

Nature Journals is a database providing access to the full content of the premier science journal Nature, as well as the following 28 additional journals published by Nature: Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Chemistry, Nature Climate Change, Nature Communications, Nature Genetics, Nature Geoscience,  Nature Immunology, Nature Materials, Nature Medicine, Nature Methods, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Cancer, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, Nature Reviews Endocrinology,  Nature Reviews Genetics, Nature Reviews Immunology, Nature Reviews Microbiology, Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, Nature Structural and Molecular Biology, and Scientific American.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
NCBI Bookshelf (NIH)

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)

Bibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs and produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.  

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Pubmed (NIH)

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
Sage Knowledge Collection

A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.  Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Science Citation Index

Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the sciences, including medicine, mathematics and statistics. 1997 to present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
SCOPUS

Abstract and citation database to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
TOXNET (NIH)

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Very Short Introductions

Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
World Health Organization Statistical Information System

A guide to health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization. Includes statistics on AIDS/HIV and other diseases.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to Health and physical education