Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Health and medicine

** Guide to Health and Fitness (for PE students)

A library guide to researching topics in health and fitness.

Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database

Citations to articles, books, and reports on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Bookshelf from NCBI

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Access: All
CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Films on Demand

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Gale Academic OneFile

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Health Reference Center Academic

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
General Science Full Text

Access to popular and professional science journals published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Coverage from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Health and Safety Science Abstracts

In association with the Univ. of Southern California Inst. of Safety and Systems Mgmt., provides access to articles in public health, occupational safety, emergency management, toxicology, fire safety, and security. Coverage from 1981 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Medline (via PubMed)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access: All
Medline with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MEDLINEplus

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access: All
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PILOTS

Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events.

Access: John Jay
Pubmed

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: all
Sage Health Sciences Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in social studies of health, public policy, health services & administration, health education, and community/public health nursing. Coverage from 1894 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Scirus

Finds scientific information on the Internet by searching a combination of web information, preprint servers, digital archives, and patent and journal databases.

Access: John Jay
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
TOXNET

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access: All
USP-NA (U.S. Pharmacopeia)

A guide through the pharmaceutical process. A source for FDA-enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, testing procedures, assays, analytical methods and more.

Access: John Jay
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1956), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
World Health Organization Statistical Information System

A guide to health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization. Includes statistics on AIDS/HIV and other diseases.

Access: All
Subscribe to Health and medicine