Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Government

Academic OneFile (GALE)

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. (from NOVELny))

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
American Factfinder (US.gov)

Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas based on  several censuses and surveys. Includes the following data:

  • American Community Survey   
  • American Housing Survey  
  • Annual Economic Surveys   
  • Annual Surveys of Governments   
  • Census of Governments  
  • Decennial Census  
  • Economic Census 
  • Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation 
  • Population Estimates Program   
  • Puerto Rico Community Survey
Access: All
American History in Video (Alexander Street)

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Census of Population and Housing 2010 (US.gov)

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access: All
CQ Almanac (SAGE)

Details about proposed bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2008. Covers topics such as immigration, taxation, health care reform, etc.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Electronic Library (SAGE)

Twelve CQ publications available - including online editions of Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Supreme Court Collection (SAGE)

Historical analysis, timely updates and expert commentary on Supreme Court decisions. Also includes biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Weekly (SAGE)

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Economist Historical Archive (GALE)

The full text of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Emerald Fulltext

A collection of close to two hundred leading management and library and information services journals.

Access: John Jay
Europa World Year Book (Taylor & Francis)

One of the world's leading reference works covering political, economic  and commercial information in over 250 countries and territories. Country information includes a profile; statistics; and directories of major organizations in government and politics, society and media, and business and commerce.  Also includes extensive information on international organizations such as the United Nations, the European Union, and NATO.

Access: John Jay
FedStats (US.gov)

Gateway to U.S. government statistics from over 100 agencies.

Access: All
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Global Issues in Context (GALE)

Provides news, global viewpoints, country information, primary source documents, statistical data and multimedia resources on a broad range of global issues and current events.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
GPO U. S. Government Printing Office (US.gov)

Catalog to the official and authentic government publications of Congress and Federal agencies.

Access: All
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)

Articles from journals and other periodicals and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York City Charter, Code, and Rules

Searchable and browsable public portal to the laws of New York City including:  New York City Charter,  New York City Administrative Code and the Rules of the City of New York.

Access: All
New York City Crime Map (NYC.gov)

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Access: All
New York Code, Rules, and Regulations - NYCRR (LexisNexis)

Click on title to access in LexisNexis Academic and then click on TOC - Table of Contents -- in upper left hand side of screen Or arrows to browse.  See subject guide on Finding Legal Information for more information.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Political Science Full Text Collection (SAGE)

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in political science, American government, and policy studies. Coverage from 1912 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)

Information on public administration and related areas such as organizational structures, public service personnel, economic issues, taxation, society issues, theory and research in the field.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
TRACFED

Data about federal enforcement activities -- criminal, civil, and administrative -- including detailed information about federal staffing, federal enforcement agencies, and income and demographic statistics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCO)

Articles and reports as well as book abstracts about crime and other urban problems, possible solutions, studies of police departments, social welfare agencies, and more.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
USA Counties (US.gov)

Compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles.

Access: All
Vital Statistics on American Politics (SAGE -CQ)

Provides summary data on political behavior such as voter turnout, election results, public opinion, media trends, campaign financing and more. Some charts provide data from the 1790s, but most focus on the 1940s to 2012. Data can be downloaded.

Access: John Jay
Westlaw Campus

State and federal cases, law reviews, news information and legal reference sources like American Jurisprudence, the ALR, and the Keycite citator service.

Access: John Jay
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (GALE)

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds; reference materials; maps; statistics; audio and video. Covers  politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science and technology.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Subscribe to Government