Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

General

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Books in Print

Contains bibliographic information of books currently in print, forthcoming books, and book reviews.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations)

Full text of dissertations published from 1997 and abstracts from 1980. Also, Indexes close to two million dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe from 1861.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Essay and General Literature Index

Index to 65,000 essays in 5,300 anthologies and collections. Coverage spans a range of the humanities and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Academic OneFile

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale General OneFile

Access to articles in general periodicals, newspapers, reference books, as well as multimedia sources. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, and politics.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Newsstand

Hundreds of newspapers from the U.S. and foreign presses.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Google Book Search

Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

Access: All
Google Scholar

Crawls (indexes) the content of publishers' websites, scholarly journals, indexes, academic websites, institutional repositories, etc. to find information of a scholarly nature. Does not provide comprehensive coverage of any one field. Enter through the library's website so that you will be linked to the library's licensed resources. 

Access: All
Grolier Online

Contains the Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and the New Book of Knowledge.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LexisNexis Academic

Federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, law review articles, as well as articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOHost)

Articles from many popular sources covering nearly all subjects including reference, business, health, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York Times Historical File

Full text of articles and page images of The New York Times from 1851 to 2008.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
NewsLink

Contains links to thousands of online newspapers, magazines, and media (TV/radio) sites from the United States and the world, usually with free access to the publication.

Access: All
Online Books Page

Provides author, title, and subject access to hundreds of thousands of non-copyrighted online books freely available on the Web.

Access: All
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Palgrave Connect

Thousands of ebooks published by Palgrave Macmillan in the humanities, social sciences, and business.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition

Provides access to general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. from 1983 to the present as well as comprehensive indexing to periodicals published from 1890 to 1982.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ulrich's Global Serials Directory

A source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types.

Access: John Jay
WorldCat

A union catalog of libraries around the world. Includes books, media, manuscripts, and other formats dating back to the 12th century.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Subscribe to General