Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Freshmen sources

** How to Use the Library

A guide to using John Jay's library and its resources.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Academic Search Complete

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
American History in Video

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Biography In Context

More than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study, including videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Biography Reference Center

Original biographical profiles plus feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries, and images.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Britannica Academic

Multi-disciplinary reference resource designed for college and academic libraries providing access to over 100,000 articles; 1,000s of  illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and over 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
CQ Almanac

Chronicles and analyzes major bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2012. Includes legislative overviews, key votes, vote studies, roll call votes and public laws.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly)

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.  Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

Over 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Global Issues In Context

Focuses on issues beyond the United States, with news articles, videos, statistics, reference materials & some academic articles.  Includes foreign, English language newspaper articles written for readers in other countries.  User friendly; focus is on broad topics.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
GREENR (Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources)

Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations. Reader-friendly; may be especially appreciated by non-science majors and beginning science students.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health & Wellness Resource Center

Reader-friendly collections of articles on common health issues, grouped by topic.  Includes some academic articles.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health Reference Center Academic

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues (from NOVELny).

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Very Short Introductions

Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds; reference materials; maps; statistics; audio and video. Covers  politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science and technology.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Subscribe to Freshmen sources