Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Film studies

** Guide to the Library's Video & Film Collections

A quick guide to finding and using videos in the Library's collection

Academic OneFile

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. For movie reviews search by document type. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Art Abstracts

Index to articles in leading periodicals in the Arts from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Journal articles, encyclopedias and handbooks in the fields of communications and mass media.  For film reviews search by document type. For motion pictures search by subject.

Access: John Jay
Ethnic Newswatch

Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish. To find movie reviews limit the document type to movie review.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
IMDb

Collection of movie information. IMDb tries to catalog every pertinent detail about a movie, from who was in it, to who made it, to trivia about it, to filming locations, and even where one can find reviews and fan sites on the web.

Access: All
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals. To focus on a discipline, select Narrow by Discipline  -- e.g., Film Studies.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MLA International Bibliography

Index to scholarly journal articles on language and literature and critical analysis of films. Coverage from 1926 to the present (Note: many are not available at John Jay.) 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Subscribe to Film studies