Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Drugs and alcohol

Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (NIH.gov)

Portal created by he National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)  to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research. Includes links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics. Also included is a link to the archived Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), produced by NIAAA from 1972 through December 2003.

Access: All
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (EBSCO)

Indexes subjects in the applied social sciences including mental health services, social work, and substance abuse.  (Content from Applied Science & Technology (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Access: John Jay
CINAHL (EBSCO)

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Health Reference Center Academic (GALE)

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Medline via PubMed (NIH.gov)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access: All
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO)

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access: All
NCJRS -National Criminal Justice Reference Service (US.gov)

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access: All
Psyc Combined Databases (EBSCO)

Search PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts), PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA all together with one search.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

Thousands of articles from journals published by the APA and allied organizations. Coverage from 1988 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PsycBOOKS (EBSCO)

Books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycEXTRA (EBSCO)

Companion database to the scholarly PsycINFO database. It consists of technical and annual reports, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycINFO (EBSCO)

The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Pubmed (NIH.gov)

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Alternate access via library barcode
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
TOXNET (NIH.gov)

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access: All
Subscribe to Drugs and alcohol