Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Current events

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Amnesty International Library

Makes available the text of news and newsletters, reports, actions, press releases, and other information about human rights issues around the world.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Journal articles, reports, newsletters, and articles from alternative press sources.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Almanac

Details about proposed bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2008. Covers topics such as immigration, taxation, health care reform, etc.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Electronic Library

Twelve CQ publications available - including online editions of Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Global Researcher

Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Weekly

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Crime Report (www.thecrimereport.org)

Comprehensive news service published by the Center for Media, Crime and Justice, at John Jay College, covering challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the United States.

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Ethnic Newswatch

Access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Films on Demand

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Gale Academic OneFile

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale General OneFile

Access to articles in general periodicals, newspapers, reference books, as well as multimedia sources. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, and politics.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Newsstand

Hundreds of newspapers from the U.S. and foreign presses.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gannett Newspapers

Local and regional news from 1991 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Global Issues in Context

Provides news, global viewpoints, country information, primary source documents, statistical data and multimedia resources on a broad range of global issues and current events.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
GPO U. S. Government Printing Office, Keeping America Informed

Catalog to the official and authentic government publications of Congress and Federal agencies.

Access: All
GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LexisNexis Academic

Federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, law review articles, as well as articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOHost)

Articles from many popular sources covering nearly all subjects including reference, business, health, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
National Newspaper Index

Indexes and provides access when available to the top five U.S. newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York State Newspapers

Access to a few dozen newspapers from NY State, including the Buffalo News, the Syracuse Herald American, the New York Post and the New York Observer.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
NewsLink

Contains links to thousands of online newspapers, magazines, and media (TV/radio) sites from the United States and the world, usually with free access to the publication.

Access: All
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Praeger Security International Online

Primary documents, books, and weekly commentary concerning foreign policy, military matters and security issues such as border control, disaster response, transportation security and terrorism.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition

Provides access to general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. from 1983 to the present as well as comprehensive indexing to periodicals published from 1890 to 1982.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Regional Business News

The most recent 30 days of information from a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Vital Statistics on American Politics

Provides summary data on political behavior such as voter turnout, election results, public opinion, media trends, campaign financing and more. Some charts provide data from the 1790s, but most focus on the 1940s to 2008. Data can be downloaded.

Access: John Jay
Wall Street Journal

Fulltext of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the Present.

Access: John Jay
Westlaw Campus

State and federal cases, law reviews, news information and legal reference sources like American Jurisprudence, the ALR, and the Keycite citator service.

Access: John Jay
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds; reference materials; maps; statistics; audio and video. Covers  politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science and technology.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Subscribe to Current events