Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal justice

** Guide to Criminal Justice

A library guide to research topics in criminal justice.

Academic Search Complete

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Bureau of Justice Statistics

Searchable statistical reports on all aspects of criminal justice in the US.

Access: All
Crime Report (www.thecrimereport.org)

Comprehensive news service published by the Center for Media, Crime and Justice, at John Jay College, covering challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the United States.

Access: John Jay
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext

Provides scholarly articles and annotations of books and book chapters in criminal justice. Coverage from 1968 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

Over 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system.

Access: John Jay
Criminal Justice Periodical Index

Articles and images from national and international publications in criminal justice. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Fatal Encounters

National database of people killed during interactions with law enforcement since 2000. Content based on a combination of media sources, public documents and information uploaded by volunteers.   Users can search by name or by state,  then depending on results, can search by county, year, age, race or signs of mental illness. Note: This database is a work in progress, and like any open web resource, seek to corroborate any data with other sources such as the Uniform Crime Reports database maintained by the FBI and accessible through the library website.

Access: All
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
FORENSICnetBASE

A searchable collection of over 300 reference books in forensic science and related fields.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Killed by Police

Aggregates corporate news reports and Facebook pages of people killed by nonmilitary law enforcement officers, whether in the line of duty or not, and regardless of reason or method. Inclusion implies neither wrongdoing nor justification on the part of the person killed or the officer involved. The post merely documents the occurrence of a death.   Searchable by year beginning May 2013.  Note: This database is a work in progress, and like any open web resource, seek to corroborate any data with other sources such as the Uniform Crime Reports  database maintained by the FBI and accessible through the library website.

Access: All
LexisNexis Academic

Federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, law review articles, as well as articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
NCJRS — National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access: All
New York City Crime Map

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Access: All
Oxford Bibliographies Online (African Studies, Criminology, Latino Studies, Psychology)

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in African Studies, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Latino Studies, and Psychology with links to the full text of sources when available.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Compilation of  ProQuest  collections in the social sceinces with deep coverage of sociology and politics including PAIS International. Coverage also extends to criminal justice, education (including ERIC),  linguistics, and language behavior.

Offers abstract and indexing files on over 14,000 titles.. Provides access to  more than 1,800 full-text scholarly journals and other sources including full-text dissertations, SSRN Political Science Research Network working papers and sociology videos from INTELECOM.

Access: John Jay
Race and Justice Clearinghouse

An index to selected NGO reports, books and journal articles that focus on race and ethnicity and their interaction with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. Includes links to the full text of publications by the Sentencing Project.

Access: all
Risk Abstracts

Links to articles dealing with risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Criminology Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in criminal justice, corrections, penology, and policing. Coverage from 1955 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Knowledge Collection

A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.

Access: John Jay
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Social Sciences Full Text

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online

Statistics from the current Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics with ongoing updates and the archive back to 1994. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)

The FBI's compendium of crime statistics. It includes volumes from 1995 to the present. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Access: All
Urban Studies Abstracts

Articles and reports as well as book abstracts about crime and other urban problems, possible solutions, studies of police departments, social welfare agencies, and more.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
VictimLaw

Information on victims rights and protections including Constitutional provisions, statutes, court rules, administrative code provisions, case summaries, and attorney general opinions. Includes overviews of the justice system and a glossary.

Access: All
Westlaw Campus

State and federal cases, law reviews, news information and legal reference sources like American Jurisprudence, the ALR, and the Keycite citator service.

Access: John Jay
Subscribe to Criminal justice