Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Art

ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with other learned societies.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Art Abstracts

Index to articles in leading periodicals in the Arts from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Art Museum Image Gallery

A rich digital source of images and related multimedia of ancient to contemporary art, gathered from museums around the world.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the arts and humanities. 1975 to present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Essay and General Literature Index

Index to 65,000 essays in 5,300 anthologies and collections. Coverage spans a range of the humanities and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Europeana

Europeana provides direct access to more than 15 million photos, paintings, film clips, audio files, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers from major European cultural institutions.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Flickr: the Commons

The project currently includes over 200,000 images from more than 50 international cultural heritage institutions.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Getty Publications Virtual Library

Provides free online access to more than 250 backlist titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, with new titles added on an ongoing basis.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Humanities Source

Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. (Content from Humanities Index (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
MetPublications

A portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Oxford Art Online

Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (LOC)

Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Very Short Introductions

Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Subscribe to Art