Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Africana studies

** Guide to Ethnic Studies and Multicultural America

A library guide to researching topics in ethnic studies and multicultural America

America: History and Life

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
American History in Video

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
AnthroSource

From the  American Anthropology Association, provides full access to AAA's current publications including  an archive of all AAA journals.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Black Drama

Full text of plays by playwrights from the USA, the Caribbean, and English-speaking countries in Africa. Excellent source for Harlem Renaissance writers.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Black Thought and Culture

Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, and includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other ephemeral material.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Diversity Studies Collection

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines from AcademicOneFile and General OneFile databases that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Ethnic Newswatch

Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish. To find movie reviews limit the document type to movie review.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 10,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
New York State Slavery Records Index

A searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and their owners, beginning as early as 1525 and ending during the Civil War. Data comes from census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources. The index contains over 35,000 records and it is expected to grow as John Jay College professors and students locate and assemble data from additional sources.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Oxford Bibliographies Online

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in African Studies, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Criminal Justice, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Military History and  Psychology with links to the full text of sources when available.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Race and Justice Clearinghouse

An index to selected NGO reports, books and journal articles that focus on race and ethnicity and their interaction with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. Includes links to the full text of publications by the Sentencing Project.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.

Access level: John Jay
Social Sciences Full Text

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Umbra Search

A searchable collection of over 500,000 primary source documents relating to African American history and culture digitized by over 1,000 libraries libraries and archives across the country.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to Africana studies