Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

A

** Guide to Anthropology

A library guide to researching topics in anthropology.

Academic OneFile (GALE)

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. (from NOVELny))

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with other learned societies.

Access: John Jay
ACM Digital Library

Full text of over 300,000 articles published by the Association of Computing Machinery and indexes over 1.6 million articles, books, reports and conference proceedings in the computing literature.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
AGRICOLA (USDA.gov)

Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Useful for forensic science.

Access: All
Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (NIH.gov)

Portal created by he National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)  to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research. Includes links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics. Also included is a link to the archived Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), produced by NIAAA from 1972 through December 2003.

Access: All
America History and Life (EBSCO)

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Chemical Society Journals

Full-text of articles from a collection of the American Chemical Society journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Factfinder (US.gov)

Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas based on  several censuses and surveys. Includes the following data:

  • American Community Survey   
  • American Housing Survey  
  • Annual Economic Surveys   
  • Annual Surveys of Governments   
  • Census of Governments  
  • Decennial Census  
  • Economic Census 
  • Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation 
  • Population Estimates Program   
  • Puerto Rico Community Survey
Access: All
American History in Video (Alexander Street)

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Memory Collections (LOC.gov)

Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program.

Access: All
Amnesty International Library

Makes available the text of news and newsletters, reports, actions, press releases, and other information about human rights issues around the world.

Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access: John Jay
AnthroSource

From the American Anthropological Association, includes current issues of several of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, plus an electronic archive of all AAA journals.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)

Articles in journals and trade publications covering the applied sciences, including engineering, math, physics, and computer technology with coverage dating back to 1913. 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (EBSCO)

Indexes subjects in the applied social sciences including mental health services, social work, and substance abuse.  (Content from Applied Science & Technology (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Access: John Jay
Art Abstracts (EBSCO)

Index to articles in leading art periodicals from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCO)

A rich digital source of images and related multimedia of ancient to contemporary art, gathered from museums around the world.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Artemis Literary Sources - (GALE)

Portal for cross-searching literary databases from Gale, including these databases:

 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Subscribe to A